Bowdoinham was incorporated as the fourteenth town in the Province of Maine in September, 1762. Bowdoinham was one of the earliest shipbuilding centers on the Kennebec River where more than 250 vessels were constructed. By the 1870s, with shipbuilding on the decline, Bowdoinham reverted to what it had always been at the grassroots: a small, agriculturally-based community of self-sufficient farms. Residents raised market crops like apples, wheat, hay and potatoes. They harvested fish and ice from the rivers and wood from the forests, earning a decent living.
Present day Bowdoinham has a population of approximately 2,800. It remains a very pleasant and prosperous village on the banks of the Cathance and Kennebec Rivers and Merrymeeting Bay. Main Street is home to several vibrant businesses. Bowdoinham has a rich agricultural history and is currently seeing an increase in traditional and organic farming including large producers and micro farms. Bowdoinham is also the home of many well known artists whose work is a direct reflection of the natural beauty of the area. When FHC Inc. recently moved its headquarters to Bowdoin, the waterfront building quickly became home to five small start-up businesses that fit nicely into the newly defined “Creative Economy”.
Numerous improvements to the Mailly Waterfront Park include an easily accessible public boat launch, hiking trails and new docks. The park is home to free Sunday Concerts sponsored by the town every Sunday at 6pm during the summer. Visit www.bowdoinham.com to learn more about living and working in Bowdoinham.